Tea and Creeping Jenny
2006-05-14 9:07 p.m.

This is a weekend of epiphanies.

I have discovered, for instance, that I am ruined for American tea forever, thanks to Kat and Dom. They introduced me to PGTips, "England's #1 Tea!" Now all other tea tastes bland and insipid to me. No wonder they thought I was nuts when I said I let my tea steep forever--it takes that long to get any flavor out of American tea, but far less for high-octane PGT. I like my tea strong, too--I turned to tea in an attempt to kick a really bad coffee addiction, after all.

Another eyes-open moment happened in the back yard yesterday. I was cleaning up weeds along the hated chain-link fence, when I realized that the ajuga I planted last year has totally covered the ground under the despised red tips. Looks pretty good. I got the idea to yank out the sparse, nasty weeds and grass under the shrubs along the other fence, and experiment with more ground covers there. Maybe some creeping jenny. I'll pop that in when the rain stops, in a few days. Already looks better, though. I'm gradually reclaiming my poor, neglected yard.

I'm also thinking of places to put irises and day lilies. I want something fun to look at in every part of the yard.

Still want to do yard gnomes, too, but I'm gonna re-decorate them. I'll be looking for candidates. Yard sales? Billsburg Pottery? (How about a summer road trip??)

Yet another epiphany today in Sunday school. I think I'm starting to think like an actual Presbyterian. What attracted me to this denomination was the way PCA folks see their faith through the lens of the intellect. PCA people want to know *why,* and if they can't find out, they keep looking. I always hated being told that I should believe stuff just because good little Christians thought this way. I like being treated like it's important for me to really understand my faith. I have a long way to go, but I'm starting to see things clearly that have always puzzled me.

Gotta go do lesson plans before "Grey's Anatomy." Must see if hunky Denny lives or dies!

previous - next




Diaryland