Depreciation
2006-05-13 1:25 a.m.

Wow! Teacher Appreciation Week has flown by!

Goodies given to me this week, all by other grown-ups who don't want me to quit:

*an apple
*a plastic butterfly with my name on it
*delicious cookies
*giant Snickers bar
*yummy BBQ lunch, today
*a candle
*a picture frame
*a key chain
*a cream-colored fleece blankie with "star" written on it (even the male teachers got these!)
*a red school shirt (in a school whose colors are blue, white, and silver)

Today, we all wore our red shirts, and we looked like the massacre episode of Star Trek. It's good thing I'm not a principal, because I would have given all the science and technology teachers blue shirts, admin staff gold ones, and red to all the rest of us. It's just that "red shirt" cachet.

I've also written four referrals this week, and been called that female canine epithet twice. I hid under my desk once, and threatened to run away and join the circus twelve times. (My partner, Cher, was counting.) Cher even kicked me out of the room for a time out yesterday!

It's been a hard week. Nursing a migraine now.

Happy Mother's Day to all you wonderful women who keep me employed! I sent flowers to my mom and my awesome stepmom-in-law. They are both fantastic ladies. I am so blessed.

I keep the Samurai's late mother in my thoughts, too. She was the best mother-in-law ever, and I miss her terribly, even a decade later. She was a teacher, too, so she understood me well.

previous - next




Diaryland