Guests All Gone!
2005-12-28 10:30 a.m.

Well, my folks are on their way to the airport.

I think they actually had fun! The futon seems to have been a great bed, and they loved their new guest bath. I didn't screw up the food too badly, and we gave Daddy a book he loves, so I guess all is well. They had lots of quality time with Mr. Alex, age three. He thinks he's grown. Tells us things like, "That isn't necessary," when we make too much noise.

Mama chattered incessantly, but I mostly listened halfway and murmured "mmmm," the way Alan does. Worked like a charm. Mama still doesn't understand pronoun antecedents. She uses "he" for every male under discussion, even if her chatter involves five or six of them. I'm trying to get her to use names.

Now Kim and Raj, with Alex, are in Loosyanna, Mama and Daddy are headed back to Oreganoland, and we have a few days until we go to Chez Corbee for New Year's fun. Casey will be coming, too, in all his newly-washed Wonder Borkita glory. (well, I hope to have washed him by then.)

Today we go to a birthday party for my favorite ex-student, Kelly. After that, I get to keep reading he trashy romance novel Kim lent me,"Kiss of the Highlander." It oughta be called "D**k of the Highlander." I've never seen so many euphemisms for, um, bagpipes in my life. This is a fairly explicit book, and the main characters are really horny people. No wonder Kim is suddenly thinking about having more children!

Gotta go wrap Kelly's present, a Good Housekeeping How-to-do-everything manual. She'll love it.

previous - next




Diaryland