Rhinoplasty, anyone?
2005-12-13 4:33 p.m.

This has been a rough week.

I left you, faithful readers, as I was embarking upon skim-coat madness in the formerly wallpapered hall bathroom. Seemed easy enough. Thin layer of drywall compound everywhere, smooth, sand, paint.

Riiiiight.

Drywall is an art. Don't go there yourself. Go hire someone. You heard me. I'm not kidding. Really.

I got the skimcoat on, then became appalled at its roughness. So I sanded. And sanded. And sanded. Finished as much sanding as I needed to do by 3:20 AM last Thursday. I looked like a dumpling, well floured, everywhere except where my goggles and mask had been. I stripped in the garage, right next to the washer, then went inside and took a shower, and went to bed at 4.

The walls are not perfect, but I'll give you a free knuckle rhinoplasty if you mention it. Won't be able to help myself. You've been warned.

It's all primed now, and I'll start real paint tonight. Kate is coming over to make the vanity fit over the plumbing (um, we forgot to check that part), and I still have lots to do.My folks arrive Monday from Oreganoland.

Over the weekend, the Preacher and Miss Inez were here. Good thing they are sweet, patient folk, because their bathroom wasn't done. Then the toilet in there started leaking, sio we all had to use the closetlike master bath. We survived, and they seemed to have fun. Alex cuddled right up to the Preacher, and was adorable and charming.

Oh, the garbage disposal broke, too. The home warranty folks sent a dude today who replaced the whole deal, and rebuilt the toity, too.

I just keep muttering,"What doesn't kill me makes me stronger."

Don't get me started on light fixtures. You really don't wanna know.

previous - next




Diaryland