Panting Plansies and Pemolishing Dotty
2005-12-03 10:54 p.m.

This morning, I was up early and outside,

First, I filled the recycle bin with all the junk that had been accumulating in the big-kitchen-sitting-area-room. Gotta get a name for that room! Felt green and virtuous.

Next, I planted 50 pansies and 40 daffodil bulbs. Wow. My neighbor asked, halfway through, what I was doing. I said,"Panting plansies."

Casey helped by supervising and watching for wolves.

I then mowed the back lawn, sucking up lots of leaves in the process.

Woke the Samurai up, got out the pry bar, and we demolished the tile on the bathroom counter, and took off the old sink. Then the Samurai displayed his Hulk-like strength by ripping the old counter right off the wall. Finally, he *kicked* the old vanity apart. We toted it all outside.

Revelations: the subfloor is not wet or rotten, and the vinyl is laid over plywood. Yay! This will make tiling easier next summer.

The wall is not too damaged where the counter was, and I can fix it.

The ceiling fan is *absolutely* disgusting, but the water damage around it is fixable. I won't have to scrape the entire ceiling, just patch a bit and sand before I prime.

The rest of the wallpaper seems to be coming off, thanks to water and vinegar in a spray bottle. I hope to be skim-coating by Monday or Tuesday.

After all this fun, we went to Sears and chose a stove. The Preacher wants us to have a new one for Christmas. (What he really wants is for me to cook next weekend.) Then we hit Lone Star for meat. Mmmmmm, dead cow. Deeleeshus!

Finally, went to Lowe's and found a light fixture we both like for the dinebrary (a miracle) and nailed down vanity requirements. Will go to Homey's to comparison-shop tomorrow. Also found a new bathroom fan for cheap.

Time to go watch the Chokies get whupped. Phooey!

previous - next




Diaryland