Guests and a Scare
2005-10-29 3:20 p.m.

All is busy as usual here in EduCaitLand.

Thursday was Parents' Day, and went very well, despite Cher being in a cast. (She dropped a computer on her arm. Yes, ow-ow-ow-ow-ow.) We seemed to convince them all that the monkeys are learning stuff, which is nice. I like it when parents get to see their teenagers as intelligent, because they are, but they often choose to act otherwise.

Friday was speed-cleaning so Jen and Alan wouldn't be horrified by the state of the hoose. As I was finishing up, I got a call from sister Kim. My brother Raj and nephew Alex had been in a head-on collision.

I swear my heart stopped. All I could think was, no, Lord, not another brother.

Turns out Raj and Alex are fine, just bruised. Another driver lost control and veered into Raj's lane, on a two-lane country road, doing 55. Raj had to hit the guy, to keep from flipping into a deep ditch. His truck is totaled, but it held up to the impact. The other driver didn't survive, and Raj feels terrible, even though it wasn't his fault. I am grateful to Toyota for making Tacoma pickups as solid as they are. I don't think Raj will ever drive anything else now.

After that scare, having Jen and Alan here was welcome distraction. It's always lovely to see them. Casey was thrilled to have spare people for a night, too. I think Jen carries an extra reservoir of happy energy with her somewhere, like a big, bright battery. I can't be down when she's nearby. She just glows.

Now that they've departed for a wedding, we're going to go peruse trees and shrubs. Next weekend is house-painting. Neighbor lady had hers done today, and we're inspired. We managed to decide on colors today, so I'll get paint later in the week, and we can get rolling. (hee hee)

The fun never ends!

previous - next




Diaryland