Hissy spitty teachers
2005-10-25 9:47 p.m.

Well, I was very depressed last night. I am better today, despite interesting work stuff.

Seems I have at least three parents who hate me now. Two of them are coming to Parents' Day on Thursday. I'll be sweet to them, I promise.

Why, you ask, are you so disliked, EduCait?

Simple. I make the kids bring their books to class ("too rigid and demanding"), I try to do hard stuff in fun ways ("plays around too much"), and I make the kids be responsible for writing stuff down and turning stuff in ("unrealistic expectations.") Yep. I'm evil, all right.

I got called in to keep teachers from killing each other after lunch today. One of my esteemed colleagues was supposed to be training the teachers on her grade level to use our computer-assisted writing doobus. She got the directions all hosed up, the teachers got frustrated, and the computer lady arrived at my door, wide-eyed, and begged me to "come quick!" I let Cher take over and hustled off, just in time to see the hissing and spitting. One angry lady came to me later to get her stuff all straightened out. I guess I'll help with that more tomorrow. Sigh. I'm bringing catnip to the next department meeting.

On a much, much happier note, it looks as if the Samurai finally has his dream job bagged--if they can find a replacement for him soon. More anon.

previous - next




Diaryland