Sugar Monkey Crackheads
2005-10-31 8:17 p.m.

I had to write fifteen detentions today.

I could have written more, but my standards dropped as the day went on. Someone replaced all of our kids with insane killer crack monkeys last night. I'm sure that's it.

Poor Cher was just as frazzled as I was by the end of the day. We are facing the prospect of fifteen kids in detention on Wednesday morning. I'm going to think of a really horrible assignment for them, probably involving feigned contrition.

Then, after lunch, part of our school cafeteria kitchen caught fire. Ever stood outside on a nice day with nearly two thousand crazy monkey children? Mine kept trying to climb the fence and escape.

We were only out there for fifteen minutes, but it felt like years.

At least we had a good Halloweenie turnout this year. No way am I giving any candy to my students. No. Way. Uh-uh. Soreee. No sugar for the monkeys.

Gotta go eat pizza.

previous - next




Diaryland