Persuasion
2005-10-11 7:57 p.m.

Thanks to rainy weather and snotty chilluns, I have a killer sinus migraine. Last night, I was a fetal ball of twitching pain. I wanted to dig my left sinus out with a teaspoon, but the Samurai would have stopped me. Wonderful man. He stroked my hair softly, let me sleep when I could, and kept me calm.

Tonight I'm down to mildly miserable status. Tomorrow should be much better. All of my migraines stay for three days.

We had a lovely weekend. We were slothful. Went to see "Serenity" again with Rosine and Arn. I've been missing them terribly. I always feel bad because Rosine and I tend to babble, and we sort of leave Arni out, but I really enjoy chatting with him, too. My usual trick is to get him on the phone. He'll talk then.

On Sunday, I FINALLY got to see the first half of "Persuasion," a fine Jane Austen film, indeed. Ciaran Hinds was so lovely at 42. I greatly enjoy watching the slow-motion courtships of Austen's time, so different from our own. I am reminded of my husband's leisurely pursuit of me. It was wonderful to have enough time to get to know each other well and become friends before we added the romance part.

In house-related news, my poor doggie is totally confused. We moved the dining table into the dining room last week,instead of the kitchen. Casey had two favored resting spots: one in the kitchen for people-are-eating time, and one in the living room for people-are-sitting time. He can't figure out where he's supposed to be in the dining room, so he circles like a big fluffy shark. I'll get a rug down in there for him soon.

He's also taken to attacking me when I'm on the computer, to obtain head-scratches. He's discovered that the office chair in here is just the right height for his head to go under my arm. Silly old bear.

Anyone know why my old house has such a burgeoning and varied spider population? Or what I can do about it?

And who's up for Harry Potter Skip Day in November? (Blooeye?)

previous - next




Diaryland