A strange thing
2005-10-09 8:13 p.m.

So here's a weirdness for you.

In my recent housecleaning binge, I emptied boxes of photos into drawers. Getting them sorted will be a summer project.

In the course of my work, I came across an envelope full of photos from a trip The Pilot took with Beth and the kids about four years ago. (I'm basing this on the sizes of the kids in the pictures, mostly.)

They went to D.C. first, then New York. At some point, they went to Arlington to visit Mom's grave.

There's a picture of niece Elbone standing next to her grandma's headstone. Her father probably took it, given that she's actually standing still and not pulling a silly face. (Beth has a terrible time getting her kids to cooperate photographically.)

What caught my eye was right behind Elbone--a gap in the row of tombstones marching behind her.

That gap has been filled now. I think what I was looking at was a photo our brother took of his own future grave.

I don't assign any special meaning to eerie coincidences like this, but I know something to be true. We cannot predict what the future holds. Every single moment we breathe is a gift. Spending time arguing and fussing seems very foolish now. I cannot possibly tell those I love how much I cherish them, or do so too often.

previous - next




Diaryland