Stuporgirl
2005-10-04 4:41 p.m.

Totally comic-book entry today.

I have two complaints about recent comix. First is that John Byrne is still working. The man has no writing skills at all. Every story line he's ever done involves alternate realities and time travel. Every. Single. One. He started writing the Doom Patrol, and in came the uber-confusing story with the other Earths and the multiple persons and the time travel. Why do they keep letting him trash books? Did he get a multi-year deal back in the mid-80s when he tried to kill Superman? Oy!

My second problem is Supergirl. I am a longtime fan of the Maid of Might. I subscribed to her comic back when I was twelve. I wanted to be either Batgirl or Supergirl. (Of course, I was brunette, where they are a carrot top and a blonde, so no go there. I'm also not very superpowered, and I don't have a handy local Batman to hang with. Bummer.) It depressed me when Supergirl died during the Crisis on Infinite Earths (was John Byrne involved in that?) back in '85. I was very excited a few years ago when Kara Zor-El seemed to be back, then bummed when she turned out to be some other being or beings.

Power Girl never seemed like Supergirl to me--she's too brash, too butch, too busty. Supergirl's coolness was partly due to the fact that she seemed as gentle as rosy-fingered dawn, even though she could tear your head off without breathing hard. I admired her restraint, her civility. She didn't use her powers unless she had to. She used her brain more often.

Now there's a new Supergirl book out. The art is gorgeous. Batman is suspicious, Superman confused, and Wonder Woman seems to be the Girl of Steel's foster mom. Sounds good.

My disappointment comes from the basic story in the first two issues. Goes something like this:

"Hi, I'm Supergirl. I'm lonely. Wanna talk?"
(Random metahuman person) "Ack! No! Go away!"
(Fighting ensues. Fight-fight-fight-fight-fight.)
"Hey, why are we fighting, anyway? Let's talk!"
(More metahumans arrive) "Oh, no! Here come my friends! They hate you!"
"But I just want to talk!"
(Fight-fight-fight-fight-fight)
"Go away, Stupidgirl!"
"Okay." (dejected superchica departs)

Pretty dumb. Even John Byrne could do better than that. Hope it improves, but I'm not hopeful. Right now, it reminds me of a day with eighth graders, except my kids don't have heat vision.

previous - next




Diaryland