Math, Schmath
2005-09-28 8:17 p.m.

Today I remembered why I don't usually agree to go learn new teacher stuff with the purpose of returning to school and teaching other teachers.

My audience included our two computer ladies, who need to know about our new writing doobobber so they can support it; my department chair; our tallest teacher; and, finally, our lone male teacher.

Now, I love all these people, but it's no fun to teach them. Tallness and the Tech Girls were easy: follow directions, learn enough to go play on your own, done. Easy.

The other two made me nuts. They wouldn't follow my directions, then got aggravated with me when things "wouldn't work." One clearly was just unhappy about having to do yet another new thing, and I can certainly empathize--but taking it out on me wasn't really fair. I didn't cause the problem, I just volunteered to do hours of extra work for nothing so it would be easier to deal with this new mandated thingy.

The other other one just wanted to get done and leave. Very halfhearted. I predict being called upon to help more later, probably when I'm under the gun for a deadline and not in the mood for handholding.

I spent the rest of my day forcing my kids to do long division without a calculator. We were using a simple rubric that required them to average five scores together. The scores ranged from 1 to 4. I had kids who could not divide 17 by 5. I can do this in my head! They all dove for the calculators, and I made them put 'em away and use their brains. Oh, the drama that ensues when the young and slothful are forced to *think.*

Going to try to do my budget while watching Lost. Now, THAT'S math!

previous - next




Diaryland