Just when you thought the party was over...
2005-09-27 8:16 p.m.

Hmm, the LiveJournal exodus is giving me the feeling of being at a large party so long that most of the other guests have left, and I'm still chatting away with a few friends in a room littered with party debris. Odd things are apt to emerge from my brain at times like this. You were warned!

I am so stressed out that I'm relaxed. I've reached the realization that I cannot possibly satisfy everyone tugging at me, so I'm doing the stuff that I find important or interesting, and pretending the other stuff doesn't exist. I'm getting so good at this that I actually feel pretty good, until I try to sleep.

Let's see: I have a week or so until we're hosting our church group here, in the house with the boxes everywhere, the icky hall bathroom, and the incontinent canine. I can move stuff around and close doors, shampoo carpets, and open windows. The bathroom will be billed as "decorated to look like a dungeon for Halloween." Still need to conquer Mouse Mansion (the attic), but I think tomorrow night looks promising for that one.

At school, I was sent to get trained to train other teachers to use our new online writing doobobber, and I'll be doing said training tomorrow. Check that one off the list.

I was also handed an EIGHT-inch thick binder and two books last week, and told, "Here are the materials for the new reading system we want you to do. Start very soon." I laughed aloud. I'm still trying to teach my little reprobates how to act in class--you know, stuff like asking permission before hopping up, raising one's hand before speaking, stuff like that. I don't have any way to coerce the monkeys into doing this reading thing, which requires some very specific behavioral training to work. Cher and I agree that it will be Christmas before we're ready to try it. My principal trusts us, so no flak about that one.

Of course, we're still trying to decide who needs to stay with us and who needs to go back to self-contained LD resource. And going to LOTS of IEP meetings. (Kind of a tag-team conference thing.)

We're also trying to get kids to realize some fairly obvious stuff, such as the necessity for bringing binder, pen, and pencil while leaving one's pet condom at home, or why it's not good to wear one's shirt depicting Bob Marley puffing de ganja to a middle school. No, I am not exaggerating, not even a little bit. Really.

I am avoiding checkbook balancing and bill paying for at least the next two hours. Might do those at 4 AM when I can't sleep.

On the amusing side, we have the new neighbors and Ballpark the wiener dog. He hasn't met Casey yet. Heh heh heh.

Lest I seem hopelessly negative, I did go out and enjoy the gorgeous weather this afternoon, planting yellow mums and trimming dead blooms away. The yard, at least, is looking lovely. My New Guinea impatiens are in the last blast of bloom before the frost sets in, so the front bed is all pink, magenta, and fuschia. The hummingbird flowers are holding on, too, so there's purple in there, with little pink gomphrena pom-poms mixed in, and my toad lilies are finally blooming.

After next week's church thingy, we begin prep for outside painting, tree pruning, and shrub planting. Poor Samurai; he's gonna get drafted.

previous - next




Diaryland