Mouse Mansion
2005-09-24 1:13 a.m.

Strange late-night entry coming.

EduCait once again has a migraine. This one hit in the computer lab today, as I was trying to get the kids to finish their business letters and teach them to address envelopes. Many of them don't know their own addresses, or realize that one must include on'e house number if one expects a response. Some also chose to type only their first names, despite our firm rule that all papers must be adorned with one's given name and one's surname if one expects one's teachers to be merciful in grading one's work. No wonder I have a killer gerbil with a sledgehammer lurking behind my left eye.

Unfortunately for Casey and you, my dear reader, my migraine meds contain caffeine. This means that my ordinarily voluble state becomes positively loquacious. I babble. Those of you who know me are well aware that I am not quiet. Ever. My mom says I started talking as soon as I realized other people have ears. I am working on becoming a better listener, and I think I'm progressing well, but my migraine meds sort of put my mouth into overdrive.

So, tonight I moaned on the sofa, accompanied by my adoring Wonder Borkita, who had to listen to me. He tried to sleep, and finally raised his head, ears flat, and whined LOUDLY at me. I got the gist: "Mom, shut up!"

I should go sleep. Tomorrow, I have major work to do. The Mouse Mansion, aka our attic, awaits me. I will need my shop vac, heavy gloves, dust mask, and a do-rag. It promises to be epically disgusting. Must be done, as we need the storage.

I can't duck out of it to do yard work, either, since the forecast calls for rain.

I might go shop for light fixtures and very tall ladders, before I tackle the attic. Maybe buy some mouse traps. Or a cat.

One week until Serenity! Woo hoo! For the Browncoats out there, SciFi is running all of Firefly all day on Tuesday. I need to have a "Joss Whedon for President" shirt made up.

previous - next




Diaryland