Random Stuff
2005-09-20 8:42 p.m.

Random stuff here:

The Pilot is on my mind again. Dad and Beth get the accident report this week, so we should have most of our questions answered. I still see guys who look like him everywhere. He was an "everyman" sort of guy who blended right into crowds, whereas the Samurai sticks out like a sore thumb, with his distinctive strut-walk and his crazy laugh. We used to get annoyed when the Pilot wandered off on his own at the mall, or at a concert, because every fifth guy there looked like him, from a distance. Now it's just sort of haunting.

My students and I are frustrated that there are no "Q" hurricane names, because "there aren't enough names that start with Q." My former students Quincy, Quinton, Quentin, Quantez, Quintavia, Quinsata, Quietus (say "Kweetus," and, no, he wasn't), and Qualley would all be quite insulted. I have a Q kid this year, too, but his name is so distinctive that I really can't post it here.

We have new neighbors across the street. They are Navy folks from Gulfport, who left right ahead of Katrina. Good timing. Nice folks. They have a little weiner dog who thinks he's fierce. Max, the aged Lab next door, ignores him. Casey looked at him yapping madly from across the street, gazed incredulously up at me, and woofed gently, asking Weiner Boy, "What the heck you doin"?" We'll have to set up a play date so Casey can teach him some manners.

We now have lovely shiny new interior doorknobs. Nice, clean, mostly functional. I'm still trying to figure out why some former owner needed to shave random bits off the sewing room door, and why the door to our bedroom looks to have been kicked in at least twice. I have some repair work to do on that jamb this weekend.

Next up: painting the outside, planting shrubs, and mulching out beds for spring. I'm starting to think that the old boxwoods might need to go. Wonder if I can move them. I also think I'm gonna clobber the whatever-o-dendron thing near the porch. It's pretty, but it's really not part of any plan I have. I guess I need to make a yard plan, and start haunting the botanical garden for ideas. Got all winter to plan the new bits.

Tomorrow, I play hooky (with my boss's blessing) to go learn about a new piece of online writing software.

previous - next




Diaryland