Fried
2005-09-08 5:30 p.m.

Wow. I am soooo fried. This block schedule stuff is killing us all. It's nice to have more time with the kiddos, and nice to teach the same stuff twice instead of four times each day, but the planning is exhausting. Cher and I don't have time together during the day, so we might have to do Friday margarita madness about once a month.

Today, we got more new kids. We're up to 27, 28, and 28 in three of the inclusion blocks, although we're only supposed to have 25 in each one. Our block 1A is at 24. Not sure how this will go. I do know that any new kid with an IEP is being put in our class, so I hope the counselors leave some room.

One of our kids was still copping attitude today, so I'ma gonna call her momma. Should be interesting.

Tonight, we have a church meeting, so I gotta go. Between Katrina relief and new Bible study, church is getting busy.

Gen, you asked what the kids are reading. Right now, I've hooked one on LeGuin's Earthsea books, and I'm pitching Robin McKinley, Patricia McKillip (Riddlemaster books), Greg Bear (The Infinity Concerto), Philip Pullman, Orson Scott Card (Ender's Game), and the Joey Pigza books to the others. Susan Cooper is good, too.

I just got three new teacher books in the mail today: one about subversive grammar (cool!), one about reading, and one about excellent ideas used by my pal Joe. Should be fun to try some new stuff!

previous - next




Diaryland