First day Chaos!
2005-09-06 9:44 p.m.

I'm sure you're all just perishing to know how my first day of school went!

We began block scheduling this year, so all was chaos and pandemonium. Some poor kids sat through a whole class before anyone realized they were in the wrong place--in some cases, the wrong grade, even! However, thanks to the awesome brain of my partner Ms. Cher, we had a seating chart up for the kiddos to peruse. All of our current enrollees were on there, so if you couldn't find your seat, you had to grab a teacher. We redirected some, and everyone left really was ours.

Tomorrow will be our first B day, so we'll have chaos all over again. It's such fun to make adolescence even more complicated than it is already!

Ms. Cher and I love our kiddos. We had one with major attitude who turned out to be the sister of one of the sweetest kids I ever taught. Seems that her 'tude is a bid for attention. She and I had a lovely talk during study hall, and she calmed down considerably. We'll see if she manages to wear appropriate clothes tomorrow. Today, she was determined to look as if she'd been cleaning in her underwear, but brought better clothes with her in her backpack. We made her change, hence, the attitude. I guess we've been tested.

We also have loads of kids who love, love, loooove to read, courtesy of Ms. JK Rowling. No matter what you think of Harry Potter, I have to hand it to Jo. She's fueled a huge reading renaissance among middle schoolers. Reading is cool again! I love steering my Potterphiles into new books. Much of my classroom collection is classic kid-fantasy, so I'm ready for them.

I am also officially old. One of our darling wide-eyed young ladies told me that her mom and dad both went to my school the year it opened. Turns out her dad was one of my more, um, memorable 9th graders back in '88-'89. This is my very first kid-of-a-former-student situation. My older colleagues were mightily amused. I felt like going shopping for my walker. One of our smart-alec boychildren made cracks about my age until I asked him how old his mom is. She's two years older than me, and apparently would not be thrilled to have me call and tell her that her son thinks we're both fossils. I love the power of the telephone!

Tomorrow, we must plan the Oreo lesson. It's gonna be a doozy. Yes, it involves actual cookies and eating, but there's a point to it. Really.

On the Headbone Radio: Django Reinhardt, one of my heroes. Look him up!

previous - next




Diaryland