Krazee Borkita Dog
2005-08-20 8:40 p.m.

Okay, my Samurai man is at martial arts ("ninja") camp. He packed up half the house to take with him, and piled it all in the living room. This freaked out my trippin', drugged Wonder Borkita, who thought he (Casey, not Frank) was going to the Loud Barky Dog Prison. Much reassurance was needed to get him out of the tub.

Next thing Casey knew, his pet woman (me) was taking ALL of the books out of one room and putting them in another! Then, she moved lots and lots of boxes out of the study/Batcave, and put them in the hall, blocking access to any room but the bedroom. He stayed in the living room, wisely, but he was up to something. He is half border collie, half Akita, so he can be crazed-obsessive and inscrutable simultaneously.

When I went out to mow the waist-high lawn (urgh), he went out onto the deck for a while, then wanted in. Silly me! I let him be inside, alone.

Casey knows how to invent games. Since I left stacks of boxes everywhere, he decided to knock them over, move them aside, basically to re-establish his accustomed paths of travel. When I came in, my carefully ordered chaos was full-blown mess, and he was happily ensconced in the bathtub.

On my way to the shower, I caught him at it! He woofed softly, cocked one ear at me, and rammed a small box in the hallway. When it shifted, he pranced backward, wagging delightedly. "Bad dog" got temporary remorse, but I thought he might decide to keep doing it, so I tried taking him into the bathroom with me . He attempted to get into the shower, running water notwithstanding, then pulled down every towel he could reach. He was clearly enjoying himself.

Now he's at my elbow, licking it whenever it comes close and panting in my ear. (He is very large.) He's been out, watered, fed, petted, scolded, you name it. I think he wants me to go sit on the couch and watch TV. I'll try giving him a chew toy.

I still have six days alone with this crazy canine! At least his kennel cough is improving.

previous - next




Diaryland