BA-by Shark!
2005-08-18 11:13 p.m.

We have been working hard.

Yesterday, I managed to unpack, sort, or re-organize all of the crap in the Dinebrary. It took pretty much all day. We had stuff I swear I have never seen before. Given the Preacher's habit of handing us random boxes he hasn't opened in 25 years and can't be bothered with, I am not surprised.

While the Samurai was at workout, I assembled the corner Billy unit we purchased at Ikea. It was a marvel of good engineering and design, and I got it together easily. Lifting it was another thing altogether; that bastich was heavy, and it was hard to use my sturdy little legs much.

When hubby got home, we assembled the other four Billy bookcases. We got very tired, and very punchy. As in, me on floor squinting at the end of an Allen wrench while my sweetie sang, "BA-by shark, do-do-doot-doot-do-do, baby shark...." with hand motions. He got through Mommy Shark, Daddy Shark, Grandpa Shark, Shark Attack, etc. It's very hard to turn bolts while you're laughing uncontrollably.

So, the Dinebrary is complete. Well, except for the 2000 pounds of books to be moved. I even cleaned up the nassty light fixture, so it's brighter. I can't replace it yet, so I'll have to deal with it.

Today, we went to that bullseye store and shopped for the little ninja camper man. He's decided the cabins are too crowded, so we bought a new nylon pop-up tent on clearance, dirt cheap. We'll use it when the nephews and niece come to visit. Camping in the backyard! With real bunnies!

We also bought a new single air mattress (much needed), little collapsible lantern, and lots of odds and ends, mostly bags, batteries, and stuff for making gorp. Ninjas need to eat, too.

Tonight, it's the usual frenzy of gi repair and hemming, laundry, and hunting for bug spray. I'm sure he'll forget something, but I ain't taking it to him. If he needs it, he can come home and get it!

Tomorrow, I tackle the books. I still have a long way to go before this place is decent.

Gotta go give Casey his pills. Codeine makes Wonder Borkitas quite anxious. He's been following me like a puppy, whining piteously, when he isn't gacking. Poor boy.

previous - next




Diaryland