More Hoosage
2005-08-03 7:49 p.m.

The deck now looks practically new. I put waterproofing stuff on it yesterday (ALL those little uprights! Aaack!) and it looks amazing. We're waiting for it to dry, so we can put chairs out there and go all suburban on it.

The Samurai decided to check the leaky gutters yesterday, and found them full of sludge and gunkum. He cleaned them out very thoroughly, and they work better now. He's amazing when he gets the urge to work. We're going to get estimates on new ones, though, because these stink and the hurricanes are a-comin'. So Say The Experts.

Today, I had an all-day inservice at school that was both fun and inspiring.I'm getting excited about school this year. Our inclusion kids did so well last year that my partner and I will get four blocks of inclusion this year. I am really eager to try all the great stuff I learned this summer! Amazing that I still find passion for this job after 18 years.

Tonight, I try the great microcrystalline wax experiment on the old lacquered furniture. The British Museum uses it, so maybe it will work for us. My poor coffee table is lovely, but sadly smudgy. (It's black, Japanese, and painted with a huge peacock.)

I also bought some rust-removal cleaner at Homey's on Monday, to try on the tub in the Bathroom of Doom. I think I start scraping again tomorrow, because it will be too hot to work outside.

Coming soon: results of the What's-Under-That-Vinyl-floor? test (Could be ceramic tile, could be plywood, could be blueboard...we shall see!)

previous - next




Diaryland