Hoose Caboose
2005-08-01 8:59 p.m.

Poor Samurai. He has pledged to help me with the remaining hoose chores, so today, we worked.

We scrubbed our deck first. It was coated with green goo and Other People's Filth, so we started with some hose-on deck cleaner. After it soaked in a bit, we started scrubbing the green goo off with long-handled deck scrubbers. We got green goo all over the place, but off it came. When hosed clean, our deck was actually (gasp!) WOODEN! Who knew? We thought it was compressed seaweed.

I know, we should have pressure-washed it, but some book claimed that would ruin the wood preservation stuff that's still clinging under the goop. Anyhow, it's sparkly-clean now!

I managed to apply sealer to the banisters before the bugs drove me indoors tonight. Tomorrow, I will finish. It looks like new! I'm just glad it's a small deck.

While we waited for the deck to dry, we went to look at bathroom vanities. We found everything from Glamorized Cardboard Box to Outre' Moderne de Expensivo. I think we're in agreement design-wise, though. We need to set a theme for the room before I go pick out tile for the floor. Poor Samurai hates to shop, but he cooperated and offered his honest opinion. I am so proud of him. He'll be so pleased when we're done and we can sit on our butts next summer!

Must go pour self into chair. I'm destroyed, I am.

previous - next




Diaryland