Penguin Toddle
2005-07-30 11:35 p.m.

Poor Knitgeek. You can be "Snotgurgle" if I can be "Spikeinnaeye." I've had the same daggone sinus migraine for pretty much all of July.

We went to see March of the Penguins tonight. Wow. Those little boogers can really get around! They seemed to do more belly-whoppin' than marching, though. All in all, very enjoyable. We were with a neato group of folks from church, and the dinner conversation afterwards (involving lots of speculation about regurgitation) was highly entertaining. Ate at a new-to-us Chinese place with a white menu for us wimps and a red one for Asian folks. Normal stuff on the white menu--egg drop soup, sweet-and-sour whatever, lo mein, etc. On the red menu: ducks' tongues, jellyfish, boneless pigs' feet, and lots, lots more. Very exotic and fun. We'll be back there.

I've cleared out lots of paper over the last 36 hours. Filled a trash bag with shredded crappus that should never have been packed and moved! I still have at least 30 gallons (in Rubbermaid totes) more to shred. Egads. Five years of debilitation really hampered my clearing-out tendencies.

On the hoose front, we spent a while changing the fan blades in the kitchen from grungy old fake wood to shiny new white. Cleaned the fan thoroughly, too. Now you can really see the pretty metalwork on the arms, but the fan itself looks lighter and less obvious against the white ceiling and light walls.

I also climbed up into the loft and replaced the last three air vent covers. All of the nasty original, rusted, filthy ones are gone now.

This week, I must make bathroom progress when it rains, and deck staining and edging progress when the sun shines. I still have a dining room fulla boxes, too. Ack.

The house across the street is for sale now. I felt a glow of pride when I overheard some folks leaving it after a tour, as the wife gestured at my front yard (where I was shaping up my regenerated boxwoods) and said she could tell this was a nice neighborhood by how beautiful the yards are. I still wouldn't call mine beautiful, but it's getting more colorful and better groomed, fashure. Next year, once the outside is painted and I get the camellias in, I'll be adding perennials galore for that cottage garden feel I adore. (The more-flowers-are-always-better approach.) I'm planning to start lots of stuff from seed to keep it affordable. Watch this space; by next June, I'll have free plants looking for homes! (Maybe I could have a plant sale!)

My coleus cuttings, obtained from my buddy Don the Gardener, are all rooted and robust. He's promised me more cuttings, too. Plants! I love plants! Bwahahaha!

On the Headbone:new Foo Fighters, the indoor disc.

previous - next




Diaryland