Little Women
2005-07-10 8:55 p.m.

Well, my hubby is gone for the week, unexpectedly. One of the guys going on our church's annual summer missions trip took ill, so the Samurai went, instead, with my blessing. Working hard helping others for a week will be good for him. He's been sorta mopey lately, with good reason. I have lots to do, between writing fellowship stuff and planting needy things that follow me back from Homey's. (Thjora's adorable name for the Home Despot.) Plants and puppies, that's me.

Today I decided to have a mini Christian Bale film fest, in honor of my second viewing of Batman Begins on Friday night (much better w/out obnoxious teens in back row) and my burgeoning migraine. Hunted through the DVDs and found two: Midsummer Night's Dream and Little Women. I regret that I don't have any of my favorite Bale flicks, like Empire of the Sun, Swing Kids, or Equilibrium. But these will do.

I had forgotten just how lovely Little Women was. It's still not as good as the book (I agree with the BigD, it never, ever is), but I love seeing good actors bring my favorite characters to life. Having Gabriel Byrne, Eric Stoltz, and Mr. Batbale in the same movie is good, too. The score is absolutely wonderful; I think I need to find the CD.

Little Women was one of my favorite books when I was about 12. I was at an extremely awkward stage of my life, having mysteriously acquired bosoms and lost my coordination overnight. It was wonderful to read about other people's problems, especially because I loved all the characters in the book. I am definitely a Jo, though. Not much Meg, Amy, or Beth in me. I had my Laurie, too, in my Goliath, but he never proposed or acted goofy. He's still a great comfort to me when I need him. I should make him sit through the movie with me. I might have to tie him up, though.

My Marmee came to me when I married. I miss the Samurai's mom every single day. She taught me so much. I originally bought this movie on video, to watch at her house over Christmas break, but she died too soon.

Off to console my dog (who misses the Man) and eat some cereal (classic no-husband dinner).

previous - next




Diaryland