Real Power
2005-07-06 6:28 p.m.

I have realized recently that all public institutions of learning are actually the property of the custodial staff.
These folks are fearsome. They generally move slowly, and they have lots of esoteric equipment. They block hallways with total aplomb. I think they put "wet floor" signs up at random, just to watch everybody go the long way around a perfectly dry floor. The custodians watch the other folks in the building carefully, through narrowed eyes. We are only permitted here on their sufferance. If we don't behave, all of the toilet paper will mysteriously vanish.
I have to admit, though, that Ancient Kingdom University is generally spotless and gleaming. I like the rosemary-scented hand soap, too. I will continue smiling brightly at the custodians, and thanking them for anything they do for me. I know who's got the real power around here.
If the Provosts suddenly start complaining about the scratchy TP in the Admin washroom, we'll know they're in Dutch with the head honchos.

previous - next




Diaryland