Weekend with Capt. HH and Lady Barbara
2005-05-22 11:46 p.m.

What do sleep-deprived noodlenoggins like EduCait and the Samurai do on a free Saturday?

No, we don't lie about eating bonbons. We go to see Moustache and the Amazing Countess. Turns out to have been a superb idea.

We went up at their invitation, to teach a self-defense seminar. It was wonderful to be doing that again. I am delighted by the prospect that I personally might be making life very difficult (and painful) for rapists. The Samurai filled the role of Red Rubber Attacker sturdily, and the women in the class were an astute and hardworking bunch.

After that, we had lots of time to catch up with our friends. The Countess pointed out that we've known each other for something like twenty years. Wow. It astonishes me that the Countess seems to grow younger and lovelier every time I see her. She's been one of my role models ever since I met her, when she was still married to her Other Husband and had lovely golden-brown hair down past her waist. (I was nineteen, and thought she was just the coolest, which will probably make her giggle.) I want to be a lot like the Countess when I grow up.

Moustache, I met when he was still quiet and shy. I know, it didn't last. I remember watching him fight in "armor" made from carpet, before his evolution into Sir Super-Spiff. The Samurai and I are enjoying watching him become a hard-nosed college perfesser now. He's learning, as we did, that it's sometimes hard to tell your students that they just aren't cutting it. Often the things we need to hear aren't fun or easy, and it's tough to be the one doing the telling.

Anyhow, we had a lovely time catching up, eating, and playing whist. Who'da thunk that I had friends who could figure out how to score whist games from reading Hornblower books?

Tomorrow: let the SOLs begin!

previous - next




Diaryland