Fluffy Pink Bunny
2005-05-19 10:52 p.m.

The Samurai got to go see new Star Wars tonight, with Raj and Sistah Kim, while I tortured my linguistics Dinoperfesser. He loves his own cool liddle sentence diagramming method, see, so I gave him a sentence to diagram, courtesy of my 8th grader monkeys:
"Who dat is, my baby daddy."

He puttered happily away for a good ten minutes, assisted by the Applied Linguistics MA students. I tried really hard not to giggle, because the Dinoperfesser looks a LOT like Phil Donohue, and he was so very cute. He's a good teacher. He can keep me interested in orthography for three hours, even with the Star Wars theme pulsing through my Headbone Radio.

Tuesday night was a good one: my Forensics team won one first place (girls' poetry) and two thirds (spelling and girls' prose). I expected nothing, as they were all totally green, so I am well pleased. The kids had a great time, too, even though the meet was totally disorganized. The clueless moron who ran it is about to be attacked verbally by a phalanx of irate Forensics coaches, all middle-aged English teacher ladies, most of whom make me at my angriest look like a fluffy pink bunny. Poor man.

Finally, last night I got to meet with my writing fellowship cohorts. Much to my delight, one of them is the mommy of one of my all-time favorite kids, now 29. He's stayed in touch over the years, and is currently off in the desert, blowing stuff up. His mom and I had a fine time together. I think our summer is going to be really interesting.

Gotta go revise self-defense handouts. I am excited to be teaching seminars again!

On my stereo: Moby, Hotel. Wow. Mmmmmmmmooooobyyyyyyyyy!

previous - next




Diaryland