Shrub Barber!
2005-03-31 8:06 p.m.

Today was going to be my botanical garden field trip extravaganza, but I had to stay home so the Hoose could get appraised AGAIN. Hope it's worth big buckitos! If sweat were the same price as gold, I'd have a LOT invested in this old Hoose.

After Appraiser Guy left, I hit the Big Box Home Improvement Retail Establishment (blue one, not orange) to get Implements of Shrub Destruction. Came home with a shovel, weed whacker, and loppers to supplement my pruning saw, hoe, and bypass pruners. (Insert maniacal laughter here.)

Spent two hours decapitating the boxwoods someone tried to turn into topiaries and the mysteriously robust philodendron, then shearing my never-trimmed decades-old liriope (found a tennis ball, three pine cones, and some coins in there) and ripping all de weeds out of the flower bed in front of the Hoose. Tomorrow I will pop in the wee azaleas, impatiens, bleeding hearts, and toad lilies. I'm sure I'll be sticking more plants in there all summer long. Casey sat in the yard and guarded me, once the Samurai tired of his incessant whining for the Mommy Person.

Maybe I can finish off the rest of the shrubbery this weekend! Where are the Knights Who Say "Ni!" when you need 'em?

previous - next




Diaryland