Windas and Stuff
2005-03-28 11:54 a.m.

Whoo-wee, lots going on here!

Firstly, I've been sick AGAIN, this time losing my speaking voice at random. Oddly enough, I can still sing, just can't talk. Eighth graders react very strangely when you SING commands at them.

Secondly, last week my students were complete nutheads. No sense whatsoever. It exhausted me, just trying to keep them busy. The cold, rainy weather didn't help.

NOW, we're on Spring Break! Wheee! A week with no kiddos! Time to do lotsa lotsa stuff I've been putting off.

First up was resting. The Samurai and I did lots of that this weekend, in between church services. We're actually starting to form complete sentences again. Sleep is good.

Second will be catching up on paperwork. We're trying to finalize arrangements to replace all of the windows in our Hoose within the next few weeks. The old ones are leaky and need paint, so replacing them seems wise. This means paying our mortgage company a bit more moolah, but it's turning out to be a good deal all around. I hate painting windows!

We also have to buy a lawnmower and trimmer, actually mow our pocket wilderness, dig up the front flower bed, eviscerate and destroy some old shrubbery, and do myriads of smaller tasks around the Hoose. I might get some bathroom demolition in, too.

Also doing planning for Toosie and Taffy's self-defense class, random paper grading, and general garden and home-repair reading.

I had planned to sleep in today, but I was awakened by the Wonder Borkita's insistent, piteous crying. We had thunderstorms this morning, and Casey desperately needed to be TOUCHING his Mom Person. I spoil that dog, I really do. He fell asleep halfway through Regis and Kelly. He is thrilled to have his People home with him.

Must go wade through more papers. Gotta run around town this afternoon.

previous - next




Diaryland