Ned
2005-02-07 10:30 p.m.

Well, the Samurai has lost another uncle.

The first one was his beloved Uncle Frank, after whom he was named. The Preacher is the oldest boy in the family, followed by Frank, Bill, and Ned, then the baby girl, Katherine. Uncle Frank was the first of my acquaintance, even before the Preacher, and I loved him dearly. His absence was the only jarring note in the lovely Sonata in G for Goat Rodeo that was the Preacher's wedding. He was a champion of education and a sharp feller, and we miss him acutely.

Shortly after the wedding, Uncle Ned, aka The Curmudgeon, developed a "cold" that wouldn't go away. His forty-year cigarette habit resulted in lung cancer. He lost his battle early this morning.

Ned was sarcastic, opinionated, devoted to his family, hardworking, and sweet clear through. My Samurai physically resembles his Uncle Frank, but his personality has always seemed to me to be closest to Ned's. I will really miss picking up the phone and hearing Ned's bass rumble telling me we should call our relatives more often. He was right, as always.

I've been blessed with my husband's wonderful family for twenty years. They took me to their collective bosom right away, and they've loved me like I was theirs all along. It really hurts to lose two in one year. I believe death is not the end, but I'm sad that my time with these wonderful men is over. I'm grateful that the Preacher's health seems robust, and that we still have awesome aunts and cool cousins.

previous - next




Diaryland