Three Weeks
2005-02-05 7:50 p.m.

This has been a very odd week. Several days were clear and blustery, then the weather guys claimed that Thursday would be warmer, and rainy.

I came home early to let the heat pump guys in, and it was drizzling. After learning (to my vast relief) that our heating system is fine, I noticed tiny snowflakes. Hmmm. By the time I took Casey to the vet (for shots), at 4, it was really snowing. We watched huge clumps of wet snow coat everything. Rain, indeed!

Then, on the way home, as we sat at a traffic light, I watched the snow turn from rain, to ice pellets, and back to snow again, in the space of three minutes. When we reached home, we had freezing slush everywhere, kinda like living inside a slurpee. Very icky.

Today, we had temps in the 50s and lovely full sun. It looks like the rest of the week will be nice, so maybe I'll get some yard work done. I'm dying to plant stuff, although I know I should wait a bit.

Tonight, I'm sort of paralyzed by the enormity of my current task: getting the hall bath done, and the hoose clean, before my parents come from the Great Damp Pacific Northwest. In three weeks. They told me this last night.

Back to scraping I go!


previous - next




Diaryland