Unhappy Casey
2004-12-10 5:55 p.m.

It's tough being the only Wonder Borkita in the world.

If you haven't met Casey, our doggie is half BORder collie, and half AKITA. Hence the "Borkita" part. He closely resembles a 100 lb. panda. He grew up with Blackbear for a dad, so he's a very well-behaved dog, but he's getting old and creaky.

Casey's forte is passive anxiety. He worries a lot, but he does so prone, through expressions and vocalization, like an aggrieved wookiee. Since becoming our dog, he has fixated on me as his Pet Woman and Person Essential for All Good Things. He's my dog, basically, although he loves the Samurai, too.

Poor Casey is not pleased about our move. He can't quite get used to the new smells, the street traffic, and the neighbor dogs. For the first few days at the house, he kept trying to persuade me to go home, to our old apartment. No dice.

I bought him a new tag, with his new address on it, hoping I could bribe him with jewelry. I even honored his heritage by making him "Casey Grimm-Downs." How cool is that? A hyphenated Wonder Borkita! He wasn't exactly thrilled. He tried to eat his tag while I was putting it on his collar.

He doesn't like the boxes piled all over because they obscure his line of sight. He'll go to sleep in whatever room I'm working in at the moment, but wake up after I've moved elsewhere. He can't see me, so he cries until I come find him. I'm not sure why he thinks it's not safe for hundred-pound dogs to roam the house unattended.

Another problem is the back yard. It's only safe for Wonder Borkitas out there if they are accompanied by their Pet Women, or so he tells me. He'll get up under the deck and woof at passing stuff, but he's not crazy about the yard. If he needs to do potty business, he wants to be on the leash, in the front yard. I guess a year in our apartment conditioned him.

Today was the worst. Poor insecure Casey had to live through a thunderstorm in December! When the first lightning flashed, he christened the carpet (good thing I bought that steamer), yelped, and ran for his safe spot at the end of the hall. It took me a while to get him to stop quaking. I'd better go scratch his ears and tell him he's safe now.

I keep hoping that this is really his mild-mannered alter ego, and that the real Wonder Borkita will show up at some point. So far, his only super power is absolute immobility. He does have a lovely baritone, too.

previous - next




Diaryland