Talking
2004-10-11 9:27 p.m.

Random conversations I've had lately:

Friday, in the library with two of my sweetie-darlings. Looking at American Girl books (A Surprise for Molly, Kirsten Saves the Day, Changes for Addy, etc.) Both of the girls are young ladies of color. Those readers familiar with the AG series know that Addy, Josefina, and Kaya are the only non-white AG characters. My girls want to know where the modern African-American girl is. "You know," they said,"Shaquisha Saves the Day, or LaKeisha Says No to Drugs." They have a point.

Also Friday, realizing my student teacher has never heard of the Talking Heads. No idea who Brian Eno and David Byrne are. No clue about Twyla Tharp. No point in trying to explain The Catherine Wheel to her. Conclusion: I'm either waaay over-cultured, or just old. My guess is OLD.

Saturday, while packing 50 boxes (approx. 1/5 of our worldly crap) with the Samurai:
"This is upsetting." says he.

"Yup," I reply. "I didn't know we owned a flourescent black-velvet Kyoto commemorative banner." (We do. Who knew?)

"No, moving. Packing. I'm upset."

"I know. Me, too. Just picture it all in our new house."

It's hard to do that yet. We haven't spent enough time there to "see" it in our heads, so we're feeling rootless and disjointed.

Casey is also very upset, and sticks to me like a Giant Velcro Panda. Things in boxes meant Casey Got Given Away, last time. I assure him that he's staying with me, but he's still freaked out.

Conversation I'm about to have regards why dinner isn't cooked. Someone didn't do the dishes. Someone is gonna be hungry. Me, I'm gonna eat cereal.

previous - next




Diaryland