Presents for teachers
2004-10-07 11:31 p.m.

Hmmmm...Jane asked, in the guestbook, for Christmas gift suggestions for teachers.

Seems like a simple topic, until I look around my apartment, which is full of stuff that kids have given me, some of it exquisitely hideous. Every item brings a kid's face to mind, so every one is precious to me. The tiny porcelain rose basket---complete with a *green* rose--was from Dave, who probably agonized over what to get me with his precious dollar. I loved poor little 7th-grader Dave, with his shaggy, unkempt bangs and habitually dirty face. I will never, ever part with that ugly little basket.

There's Valinda's music box, Joanna's figurine, Shali's homemade picture frames. At Christmas, half my tree ornaments were made by kids. My cabinets are loaded with kid magnets. My shelves groan with kid coffee mugs. I am constantly surrounded by reminders of kids I love, who tried really hard to love me back. I am so blessed.

I am also overrun with tchotchkes! I shall die surrounded by kid-gifts and dog toys.

So, in answer to your question, Jane, all gifts from students are precious.

However, my preference nowadays is stuff that gets used up. One of my kids used to bring me a tiny box of Godiva chocolates for every special occasion. (His mommy worked in a Godiva store.) I loved those! Chocolate is always good!

Homemade cookies are cool, too, because teachers never have time to make our own. Gift cards are neat--one child brought me a Blockbuster gift card wrapped together with a package of microwave popcorn. Bookstores, Bath and Body Works, and restaurants are also good gift card choices.

When my dog Junior died, some of my kids made a donation to the SPCA in his name. That one was extremely sweet. I still have the card.

I also save cards from kids, especially the ones where they write little personal notes to me. Teachers don't get thanked a lot, so we cherish notes of appreciation. (from parents, too.) I keep mine in my Smile File, to read on bad days.

Things we get too much of: lotion, bubble bath, candles, coffee mugs, magnets, note pads, and things with apples on them.

Things I could really use (for my classroom): markers, funky band-aids, colored chalk, stickers, wet wipes. I buy lots of stuff for my class, and help is always appreciated.

Any other ideas out there? Aunt Claudette, what were your favorites?

previous - next




Diaryland