Detention, Furniture, and Burglars
2004-10-12 10:39 p.m.

My kids are all being bad this week. Poor Studink Teachum has had to write five detentions, three for Extremely Naughty Lingo and two for Projectile Launching During Instruction. I talked to lots of parents today, all lovely, supportive folks. Tomorrow I send out Volley Two of progress reports, in the form of second copies issued to kids who didn't get the first one signed yet. After that, more phone calls.

Got all the house stuff straightened out today. We are hurtling toward closing, and it looks like we'll be able to afford inspection, carpet cleaning, and a new mailbox. We're also going to go shopping for an entertainment containment system, something tasteful, yet afflicted with the Japanese disease that characterizes our decor. We have French Provincial bedroom furniture (gold and white, yet), Early American table and chairs, Scandinavo-moderne china cabinet, and Queen Anne in the guest room, but the living room is actual Japanese furniture. In the new house, we'll even have the good sofa, currently living at our pal Leslie's house, which is Japanese by dint of being purchased second hand from the Samurai's aikido sensei, who is Japanese for real. One of these days, we'll replace the other furniture with Asian-inspired pieces, but for now, we gotta love the free furniture, and call our look "eclectic."

I also spent far too much time today dealing with utilities and such. It's been fourteen years since I had to deal with this mess. I am much less patient now than I was at 27! Poor underpaid phone ladies, having to deal with surly ole me.

Must go to bed; not feeling so good. I think one of the wee ones in the church nursery might have been over-generous with his microorganisms. The precious babes will persist in sticking their fingers into my eyes and mouth, so goodness only knows what I've caught.

Casey is still anxious tonight. We went for a ramble, hoping to find a miscreant to chew on. Our apt. complex is having trouble with burgling on the ground floor. I made a sarcastic phone call to the office today, reminding them that our back security light has been out since May. I guess they're counting on Casey as a deterrent. Can't wait to move!

previous - next




Diaryland