Missing the SCA
2004-10-02 2:20 p.m.

Faithful readers, it seems that the Samurai's fantastic aunt, Miz Claudette, is conducting her diarizing via my guestbook, MUCH to my delight! I looove hearing about what goes on in ClaudetteWorld. Check it out! (Maybe I can talk her into starting her own diary. She is a fascinating person! Love ya, Aunt C!)

Today I'm musing about my enforced absence from the SCA. I'm, well, busy right now. I'm missing the History Alive demo today, which kills me, so I can dig around in my guest room and start packing. I miss dressing up in funny clothes. I miss doing stuff I only do in the SCA, like illumination. I really, really miss my friends.

On the other hand, I don't miss the folks in the SCA who take themselves too seriously. I shed no tears over people who truly believe that their SCA rank makes them privileged beings. My biggest beef with the SCA in the last few years has been the number of folks who fail to recognize that it's a *game.* Those are the same self-absorbed, mannerless twits who make the people around them miserable wherever they are. I'm tired of having at least one encounter at every event I attend where I really want to spank someone.

My other big beef is that I have to deal with cigarette smoke at *every* event I go to. I'm very sensitive to it, and I end up having asthma attacks that leave me exhausted, followed by breathing problems for days afterwards. Since I can go to the mall, or the movies, without risking breathing problems, it takes mighty enducements to get me to an event.

I am looking forward to having a house big enough for scriptorium, or garb-making sessions. We'll probably show up at events again, too. Maybe I just need to get really assertive about rudeness at events, and take folks aside and let them know that I'm fixing to kill them. I could hand out detentions...naaah.

Off to make hash of my teacher crap!

previous - next




Diaryland