PG for the Shorties
2004-10-04 12:04 a.m.

I will not be at all sorry to leave the snurtheads I have for neighbors in this apartment complex.

When I got home from the grocery store tonight, two guys were talking in the parking lot, one of them over the blasting, profanity-laden noise issuing from his car stereo.

Their conversation was also laden with eff-this and excrement-that. As there were three little kids (six or seven years old) standing a few feet away from me, wide-eyed, I hollered, "Hey! Guys! This is a family neighborhood! Keep it clean for the kids!"

To my utter amazement, they meekly apologized, calling me "Ma'am." They even turned the car stereo down! Incredible! Polite thug neighbors!

Soon, I will not have to deal with random neighbor roulette. I won't have to wade through trash to get to a full dumpster. I won't have to bag my recyclables and haul them to a center. No one will live downstairs, so I can dance loudly. I can do laundry all night if I want! I will pee in a toilet that belongs to me! I'll have a full-size refrigerator! I can dig in the yard!

I am really, really eager to move!

This weekend, working nonstop all day on Saturday, I purged six paper boxes full of old teaching materials. What's left either goes to school or gets packed.

Now to do Progress Reports....

previous - next




Diaryland