Back 2 Skool
2004-09-07 11:22 p.m.

There were two tired little teachers in recliners in our apartment tonight, both gently snoring, while Casey the Wonder Borkita happily guarded their feet.

Yes, school has started, and, as always, it's whipped our butts. We are this tired after day one? Oh, dear.

Overall, my new eighth graders are adorable. They even laughed at my goofy jokes. Sweet kids. A few are going to be hardcases, but they'll be okay. Teaching inclusion with my friend Cher is terrific. I plan, I lead, she follows, and she jumps in wherever the inclusion kids will need extra clarification. She's so smooth and gracious that it looks like we plan every transition. I am in awe. The things she's doing will help the regular-ed kids, too; I wouldn't be at all surprised if they do better in these two classes.

My poor little student teacher, who I'll call Ellie, is having a rough time. First she missed most of last week, because no one told her when to report. (Not my job; one of our APs dropped the ball.) Then she didn't show up this morning. I was worried, but couldn't call her once classes started. She turned up at lunch, in tears, having overslept. To make matters worse, she had on a new suit and realized halfway to school that it still had the ink tags in it! (Both jacket and skirt.) She also ignored my advice and wore fashionable kitten-heel shoes, rather than comfy ones. Poor baby was hurting, and limping, by the end of the day. She was going shopping for Easy Spirits tonight. She was so upset she couldn't eat lunch until planning bell, when I basically made her sit down and chill out. I drove her to her car after school, since she had to park out in the back forty. She's vowed to be at school by 8 tomorrow. I hope the stress doesn't kill her! I've got to give her "teacher voice" lessons, too. She's very soft-spoken. I am, too, until I'm with the kids, and then I am LOUD.

One of my little monkeys is extra cute; his name is Reed, and he's a quiet, slender, bright-eyed fellow with unruly brown hair, glasses, and a very quick wit. I want to tell him to cultivate football players named Ben and stay away from weird n-dimensional radiation--and guys named Victor. He's gonna have a load of fun next summer when the FF movie comes out!

In house news, we signed the rest of our contract today, so now we're on to appraisal and setting up closing dates. We'll go back for a second look next week, so we can start planning repairs. I drive by on my way to work each day, just to get used to seeing it. Two more months of closet kitchen, drunk neighbors, and noise. Two more months until Casey has a yard to loll in, and for me to dig up and play with! I'm really revved up about getting out of this blankety-blam apt.

Make sure you see: Intolerable Cruelty. We watched it tonight (after waking up) and nearly wet ourselves laughing. Wheezy Joe is the best!

On the Headbone Radio: Be Still My Soul, a hymn set to music by Jean Sibelius. Lovely, lovely, lovely stuff.

previous - next




Diaryland