Botta Hoose!
2004-09-04 11:07 a.m.

Much to my sorrow, we are not at Coronation. It is my understanding that something wonderful is happening there. The person to whom this wonderful something is happening will be wearing something made by myself and Lady Shilo. I hope she feels its warmth around her shoulders as a big hug from both of us.

I am recovering from my sinus crappus, thanks to the miracle of modern horse pills. I will need all weekend to recover from teacher work week. I still have lots to do if I'm going to be ready for students on Tuesday. My student teacher finally showed up yesterday, and she is a huge help. I'll be relying on her as I get my head around the inclusion model.

Now for the aspect of our life that makes me feel like I live in a blender: we've bought a house.

Our agent called on Wednesday, telling me she was going away this weekend, but really wanted to show us some new properties on Thursday. I consented, and we went.

BOTH of the houses we were to see sold before we got there, in less than 24 hours each. We were bummed. Our agent, a dynamo of dauntless saleswomanship, called the owners of a nearby house that had been listed that very day. We were the first people to see it, and the owner showed us around. I talked her to death about how much I loved her neighborhood, how nice her home was, how I had been part of that community for eighteen years through teaching its kids, etc. We went back to the realty office and wrote an offer, including a thank-you letter in which I mentioned all the stuff I'd told the owner, so she'd know who we were.

The house was shown sixteen times yesterday, but the owner took our offer, because she liked us! We were amazed. We truly didn't think we stood a chance, because the house was an incredible bargain.

We are now under contract to purchase a solidly-built 1977 brick-and-vinyl 4BR, 2 bath ranch with a cathedral-ceiling kitchen/great room. You are all invited to come loll around and watch me cook, provided that you scratch Casey's ears, sometime after November.

I am so excited!

previous - next




Diaryland