Big Box Babe
2004-08-21 12:10 a.m.

Any time I feel the urge to diet, or think I'm fat and ugly, I go shopping.

I do NOT go to any highfaluting stores patronized by slender, tanned sylphs with personal trainers and talented Adkins-trained chefs.

I go, instead, to the refuge of the hoi polloi:any Big Box Store.

These are the places with discount prices and bulk packaging. Even more bulk can be found jiggling about behind shopping carts, thinly veiled in spandex and denim.

I was certain that TLC must be filming some of my shopping compatriots for a "don't" segment on a fashion-makeover show. I was no prize today, but I was better looking than 90% of what surrounded me.

No, I'm not vain, but I'm not blind or stupid, either.

Now, someone explain to me why people like to get two feet inside a building, then STOP dead in their tracks. Has it not registered that the door they're blocking is labeled "Entrance" so that EVERYONE can use it? Do they think that the Door Elves move the sign to a different door after they've used it? Same for aisles; most of them are for two-way traffic, so staying planted in the center of any given aisle seems pretty dim to me, yet it's a common maneuver.

My foray into Big Box Wonderland got me stocked up on crucial school-related items, though, so I am pleased. Found Alex's birthday gifts, too. Go, me!

Casey was delighted when I finally got home, and whined at me until I indulged him with an Extended-Play Ear Scratch. His part of my haul was a big box of small trash bags, for disposal of canine effluvia. Poor old dog is still pooping up a storm, and one newspaper bag a day just wasn't doing it. I'll spring for poopoo bags, if they're guaranteed hole-free.

I still need to evaluate my school wardrobe, and get my hair trimmed. Next Friday is the first day of in-service. Yuck. Not ready yet! I still have boxes of old teacher crap to go through, and mess to purge.

Oh, and I'll have a student teacher this year. Just got that call today. Hope he's/she's a good one!

On the Headbone: the song from Bob the Builder. Alex's DVDs have polluted my brain!

previous - next




Diaryland