Hoose Hunting
2004-08-21 10:52 p.m.

Today the Samurai and I actually went and looked at a house we might want to buy.

This is the first time we have ever done this. I am terrified. I forgot that I'm married to a man who inherited his mother's Impulse Shopping Gene.

Sometimes, it's a good thing. He came home from a highfalutin' store on Thursday with a load of beautiful man-clothes for a cool hundred bucks. The trousers alone are worth that, because they are a gorgeous microfiber with a lovely drape. The things they do for his backside ought to be illegal. He might not get to wear those outside the house. Anyhow, he shops extremely well for a straight guy.

On the other hand, I can see that we're going to need decompression time after every house we see. We are so sick of our cramped apartment that any house looks great to him. Granted, this one was nice, but it had some dampness issues (and I like breathing, but I'm allergic to mold) and wasn't in a primo neighborhood. We can do a bit better. All he saw, though, was the huge kitchen (I liked it, too) and the lovely woodwork. We had to dive away before he committed us to anything, and evaluate *away* from the object of his desire. I can see this will be tough.

I guess I'll get on the phone Monday and round up a good agent. If we present one with our must-have list, I think we'll find something we like. I'm just *not* looking forward to trying to move while school is in session. Good thing we have big, strong friends...SCA friends...dojo friends...church friends...school friends....

previous - next




Diaryland