Wild Weekend
2004-08-16 1:15 p.m.

Wow. What a weekend.

The Samurai had wet, squishy fun at the men's retreat, and came home with a sack full of muddy, paint-y laundry.

We survived Tropical Storm Charley by hanging out at my brother's and watching my sweet little gray-headed mama destroy crab legs. That lady can eat some crustacean.

My brother's house is doggie heaven for me right now, since Kim's dad's two doggies are there, in addition to chocolate Lab Sarah. All three are lovey dogs, so I come home covered in dog hair and pooch spit, and get the "slut!" look from Casey.

Yesterday, I got baptized and we joined our church officially. I've never been a member of any church before, but this feels good. I like these folks. We'll see what happens.

We celebrated last night with barbecue and Oreo pie. Casey got banished, since nephew Alex was here, but he behaved himself while in exile. (Last time, he redecorated our room to suit himself. It looked like bears lived in our bed.) The secret seems to be having the Samurai walk him several miles before company arrives. He's still tired today, but he's enjoying watching the equestrian Olympic events. He loves horsies on TV.

Casey's still expressing frustration by munching on himself, this time a paw. I've kept it wrapped, so he mostly leaves it alone. (note to you dog folks: Pet Wrap is great, but expensive. There's a people version that works the same, only much cheaper.) Mom's friend June suggested bitter apple spray. Casey *likes* it. He licks it off, wrinking his nose and flapping his tongue long after he's done licking. Doesn't deter him a bit.

Must go loll around the house aimlessly. Only 11 days of vacation left for me. Guess I'd better start looking for a house to buy, huh?

previous - next




Diaryland