Church Lady
2004-08-11 11:01 p.m.

Well, I'm pretty befuddled.

We've been going to a church we really, really like. After nineteen years of marriage, we've finally found a church we both enjoy. This is good.

We missed three Sundays in a row as we traveled around the country, attending weddings. We also missed some announcements at church.

One important one was the men's retreat, which is this weekend. The Samurai is definitely going, I think just so he can shoot paintballs at our minister. (The man is like Jim Carrey and Dana Carvey's love child. He's a nut.)

Another one was that this Sunday is "Joining Sunday." It's when the folks in our Sunday school class have the opportunity to join the church. This is great, too, just short notice, for a church that has a membership application and interview process. We'll be doing all that tomorrow.

Oh, and I'll be baptized on Sunday, too. (My parents were dueling Anabaptists, so it just never happened.) I am thrilled, and a bit bemused. I just hope they tell me where to stand, so I don't make a doof of myself. (Although God wouldn't mind.)

The icing on the cake? My mom is visiting from Oregon, so she'll be there, too.

previous - next




Diaryland