Ladies' Restrooms
2004-08-09 11:07 p.m.

We are not going to Pennsic. I don't mind, as I'm not really into being hot, dusty, and migraine-y for prolonged periods of time unless the car's broken down or I'm making crazy amounts of money. Pennsic War sometimes does create car difficulty, but no one pays me to go. So I don't.

Since most of my D-land buddies are off at War, I'm going to write a series of entries about "Stuff I Can't Discuss in a Crowded Room."

First up: "Rating Women's Restrooms."

Now, I've peed in some odd locales in my forty-one years. I've dug my own latrine, even. I'm not too dainty when I've really gotta go. I do appreciate fine restroom facilities, though. Hence, my restroom review. Your mileage may vary. Caveat emptor. (or, in this case, pisseur.)

#1 BEST: Dillard's restroom, MacArthur Center , Norfolk, VA. Palatial marble. Lovely scented soap. Verrry pleasant.

#2: The food court restrooms at MacArthur Center. Nice tile work, soft indirect halogen lighting, nifty shelf behind the potty for my purse. Usually spankin' clean.

#3: Restroom at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Very well-appointed, but crowded. Maybe the upper-floor bathrooms are less busy. I'll try them next visit.

#4: Atlas Diner, Chesapeake. Very warm and homey atmosphere. I could hang out in there all night.

Now for some stinkeroos:

#4: Teacher's bathrooms at my school. Poorly maintained, rarely cleaned, badly ventilated, and leaky. Yuck. The kids' bathrooms are much better. (Surprise!)

#3: Potties at Penn Station, NYC. Tiny aluminum biffy hung on the wall. Yeccch.

#2: Outhouse on my great-grandma's homeplace, Hull, GA. Whew. M R snakes! O S A R!

#1 ICKIEST restroom I know: Naro Cinema, Norfolk. Tiny, hot, usually filthy (and/or barfy). I try not to use it unless I'm desperate.

There are, of course, others I could mention, but this is just what stands out (or sits down) at the moment. Nominations for more best and worst potties will be graciously received in the Guestbook.

I guess I'll have to write about" The Trouble With Brassieres" next.

On de Headbone: "Be Thou My Vision," my favorite church song. We sang it yesterday, and now it will waft into my head for the rest of the week. Lovely stuff.

previous - next




Diaryland