Dog entry
2004-07-12 11:02 p.m.

Today I shall prattle incessantly about my ridiculous dog. If you don't want to read about the Wonder Borkita, you are excused. (That means,"You can go away and I won't mind.")

First, the good news: Casey is losing weight! He's down to 106 lbs. We might be making progress.

Now, some new (to me)personality-revealing stuff.

Casey likes to capture, torment, and eat large flying insects. He plays with them as if he were an enormous panda-cat, batting them around with his paws, chomping on them gently, then releasing the mutilated critters to flap feebly a few times before he seizes them again. He's left with lots of tiny (but identifiable) bits of slobbery bug, all over the carpet. If I try to take his bug bits, he swings his big head around and blocks me with his paws. He wants his bug!

The dog has recently taken to conversing with me. If I talk to him, he responds with a brief growfy commentary. I think he might be demanding steak, but his consonants are a bit slurred.

Casey has decided that thunderstorms with both people home are okay. Boomers occurring while the Samurai is away require Casey to cling to me, because he's protecting me. Storms when he's home alone are a good reason for him to climb into the bathtub and stay there, until someone comes home to rescue him.

Oh, and that light on the landing that's burning out, the one that flickers? That's baaad, too. Casey must crouch and whine before passing the flashy light, to appease it.

But riding in the van with all the windows open is good, because he can woof at all the motorcycles!

Watching Alien movies on TV is fun, too. The monster critter looks a lot like a bug. I swear I can see the gears turning in that animal's brain.

You want an interesting dog, get one raised by a bear.

previous - next




Diaryland