Perspective
2004-07-09 11:41 p.m.

Tonight has been a muddle.

I spent my day getting new tires put on the Space Van (because the old ones were threadbare) and wondering when my local mall got so skanky. I was heartily sick of watching teenage boys getting thrown out for fighting by the time Sears was done with my car. I have better things to do than dodge hoodlums. Now I know why that mall has a security person for every five patrons.

Once the Samurai left for the little podunk town west of here to teach aikido, I met up with my brother and his wife for Chinese food and King Arthur. Much to my surprise, Rosine and Arni sat down right in front of us! It was great fun watching Rosine's expression during the film, since she hadn't realized I was behind her.

The film was pretty silly, but entertaining. I had fun figuring out which of my SCA friends each character reminded me of. (Any guesses as to which one was the Redduke?) Lovely Ioan Gruffudd made for distracting eye candy as Lancelot. I have a thing for guys with soulful eyes, chiseled features, and nice beards. Young Ioan would be just about perfect if he were a bit shorter, balding, and a few pounds heavier. (Oh, wait...I have one of those at home! Yummmy.)

This movie's annoyances: the chick next to me, who was chewing watermelon bubble gum and popping bubbles LOUDLY in my ear, until I gave her the Power Eyes. She went,"erp!" and quit blowing bubbles. Oh, and the dude with all the chains on his wallet and the teesy bladder. It was like having the Ghost of Christmas Past go clanking by every twenty minutes.

Sad news upon returning home. All my annoyances seem petty now. The Samurai has a sweet cousin in Nashville, a teacher like us. Her grandmother and father (the Samurai's favorite uncle) have both passed away recently. Now, tonight, her husband was killed in a head-on collision. She will be raising five kids--two hers, three his--without their dad. I don't know what I can do to ease her pain. I'm going to go hug my hubby now.

previous - next




Diaryland