Spidey Too
2004-07-02 12:57 a.m.

Yesterday was such a good day!

The Samurai took his highly over-stimulated EduCait to see Spidey 2. We both wore Spidey shirts, and I had my cute little Spidey sneaker charms (little rubber gyratin' Spideys) on my old lady walkin' shooz. We hit the food court prior to movie time, and were very popular with the under-7 crowd. ("Lookee, Mama! Spider-man!") The movie itself far exceeded my expectations. I didn't even mind mumblin' Jimmy Franco. (I hate mumbling. Comes of being a forensics coach.) Only problem was that I missed the Blackbear; he's so much fun at the movies! (Warm and cuddly, too. That theater was COLD.)

After that, we hustled over to a community group meeting. (This would be "Bible study" to you guys that don't use our new church's secret code lingo.) I surprised myself by actually liking everyone we met, and actually enjoying the discussion. I don't usually do well with organized religion, but this church and its folks are keeping me interested. We'll see what develops.

Today was not so wonderful. Sinuses feel yucky. I cleaned moldy, mildewy crappus out of various places all day. (Will help the sinuses.) Started on the Great Tossing Out of Crud We Don't Need that must take place before we can move. Still haven't worked up the guts to actually begin searching for a house.

Also, I'm puzzled by the large numbers of my so-called friends who can't be bothered to respond to my e-mails and phone calls. I know folks are busy, but this is a bunch of people for whom I do stuff on a regular basis, at the drop of a hat. (Not just one or two folks, mind you, but a bunch.) If they need me, they call me, and I bust my tail to do them favors. It seems, however, that if I contact them for information (no action required, just an answer), I get ignored. I find this baffling and frustrating. Maybe my spam filter is eating messages again. Maybe aliens ate all my friends. Maybe I won't be doing anyone any favors for a while. Bah!

I'm also struggling with some dissatisfaction with the SCA right now. Maggie articulated some of what I'm feeling in her diary, but there's more to it than that. I have to think about it before I can really explain. I'm just not terribly excited about doing any SCA stuff right now.

Gonna go give my doggie his thyroid pills, and go to bed.

previous - next




Diaryland