Monkey Butt Rant
2004-05-25 10:22 p.m.

Well, I'm still sick, gack*hack*hack, but the Samurai is all better.

Casey survived the fireworks, cruising around in the SpaceVan with me. We found a nice neighborhood full of hot poodles. Must look for hoose prices to see if we can afford it.

This week is the run-up to SOL tests for my 8th grade crack monkeys. We are working on Shakespeare, so you'd think they'd have lots to occupy their tiny little minds.

You'd be sadly mistaken.

My kids are concerned with *important* things, like matching one's shirt to one's shoes (WTF?) or figuring out how to carry 40 tubes of lip gloss in one's backpack (WTF?) or figuring out how to make dirty jokes out of Shakespearean names. ("Ophelia Butt!")

Three sets of parents have seen fit to take their kids out of school completely for the Memorial Day weekend runup, starting Thursday, and returning next Wednesday or so. The reading SOL is next Tuesday, and the parents have known this since September. We've reminded them recently. The kids must pass this particular test, or lose their elective in 9th grade so they can take SOL lab instead. Yeah, they can take a make-up, but they miss class to do that, and I'm still doing new material and giving grades, up until the last week of school, which is three weeks away. The earth-shattering reasons for the kiddos being absent are: 1) a singing competition 2) a hockey clinic 3) a pedicure and spa day. Did I add that two of the three kiddos are FAILING English right now? Or that two of the three already have more than the allowed number of absences this year, and are failing 8th grade due to this?

What are these parents thinking?

Yes, color me frustrated...but if I can drag my disease-raddled carcass in to teach Shakespeare to monkeys, they can be there to learn it. I don't care what their toes look like, or if their shoes match their shirts. Just get their butts here.

previous - next




Diaryland