Van Hilarious
2004-05-09 6:12 p.m.

Why didn't anyone tell me "Van Helsing" is a comedy?

See, when the Samurai and I finally got our sluggish buttocks out of bed yesterday, we just had to go see it. The Samurai is fond of movies featuring Kate Beckinsale running away while wearing tight pants, something she seems to be specializing in these days. Anyhow, after a bit of retail madness, we went. About thirty minutes in, I just couldn't hold it in any longer. I laughed until the tears streamed down my face. I nearly wet myself (and I have a super-powered bladder, after 17 years of teaching). I made everyone nearby glare at me. I just couldn't help myself.

It's a hilarious movie.

Now, it's supposed to be a serious movie, but, I'm sorry, it's just, well, extremely silly. Don't get me wrong, it's very entertaining, but there were just too many silly things. I can't wait for the DVD, so we can give it the MST3K treatment in our living room, where we won't disturb anyone, and I can hit "pause" when I have to pee from all the laughter.

Oh, and, the movie does feature dear little Mr. Jackman in a sort of loincloth getup. Very easy on the eyes. Kate's retreating ass looks nice in her gypsy spandex, too.

Off to make myself useful!

previous - next




Diaryland