Inner Khan
2004-05-11 12:07 a.m.

This really flipped my switch today. A student said to me, "You don't know how to teach."

He got my "S'CUUUUZE me?" eyebrows, followed by, "Maybe you just don't know how to learn yet," from me, along with my best saccharine smile.

Little did he know that mere inches away, my inner Gengis Khan was howling.

"Don't know how to teach? I'll give you a LESSON, you twerp! I can teach, all right, when I'm not trying to get over-indulged spoiled BRATS to shut up long enough to LISTEN to what I'm trying to teach them! Maybe if you quit admiring your own CUTENESS long enough to NOTICE that there are other people in the room, you'd LEARN something. Next time you interrupt me to ask for a paper towel so you can clean imaginary dirt off your $150 sneakers, you might try asking yourself what you just interrupted! When you finally get out of college on the six-year plan thanks to Daddy paying off the provost, and you're dealing with your eightieth rejection letter from a potential employer citing your crappy writing skills and screwy spelling, you'll realize you SHOULD HAVE LISTENED to me, moron! I've been teaching LONGER THAN YOU HAVE BEEN ALIVE. I have taught doctors, lawyers, engineers, teachers, dentists, nurses, football players, actors, plumbers, mechanics--you name it. Many of them have told me that I taught them things of value. Am I to suddenly take the word of a thirteen-year-old NINNY who wears velcro because he can't tie his shoes? Am I supposed to QUIT after this scathing critique and go work at Wendy's? Just who do you think you are, doofus?"

Yup. That's what Inner Genghis was screeching. Too bad the kid never knew, but I feel much better.

Maybe the Samurai and a couple of the dojo guys are right, and I'm really a scary lady. I'm still no match for Theo with a drill.

previous - next




Diaryland