Yum
2004-04-28 8:19 p.m.

Well, the rude, obnoxious monkey children from the flaming depths of the lowest pits of whatsee-whoosis inhabited my room today, and I'm sincerely hoping that none of them has the wit to reproduce.

They have Busch Gardens Brain Death Syndrome. They are going to BG en masse on Saturday (yes, a very good day indeed to avoid BG) and it's all they can think about.

Friday will be a test day. It's the only way to survive without screaming myself hoarse. Actually, I don't scream; I drop my vocal register a couple of octaves, project from the diaphragm, and pretend I'm Kevin. Scares the crap outta the monkeys, and cuts right through the chattery noises.

Oooh, I also terrified them by telling them that the Loch Ness Monster was built when I was in eighth grade. Yes, when I was 13. I'm now 41. They were green with fear. They'll enjoy that coaster even more now. Maybe it'll scare them sterile. One can hope.

Attitude adjustment was required this afternoon, so I got a Sonic lime slush on the way home. The Samurai thoughtfully provided the comic books; I love comic book day. I spent an entire hour gazing at Jim Lee's rendition of Superman. That man is amazing. (Yes, all three of them.) Got a big giggle out of Ultimate FF. (I love Brian Bendis, too.)

Then Casey and I went for a walk in the lovely sunny bee-speckled clovery greenery around our pond. Casey tried to drag me into the water after a nutria, but I prevailed. Used my Kevin voice on him. He was properly cowed.

We cooled down by watching the new Ninja Turtle cartoon (or, as the Smatchet used to call them, "Nujent Turtles.") It's pretty good; the Heroes on the Half Shell live at the corner of Eastman and Laird! The Samurai and I collected the original TMNT comics back in the 80's. Love the TMNTs.

Now I've read some crackin' diary entries, and I'm gonna go make fresh green beans. Yum.

Looking forward to Friday: no monkeys, just Jackman in leather. Yummmmmmmm.

previous - next




Diaryland